Youth initiations and trips to the Baltic Sea, demonstrations and allotment gardens, anniversaries of the German Democratic Republic and Christmas celebrations, a new car and the last day of work – these are some of the moments and events captured in private photo albums, which reflect both experiences and worlds in East Germany from a very individual perspective. The research and documentation project Biography and History: Private Photography in East Germany, 1980-2000 collects and examines photographs and photo albums that reveal not only ruptures, but also continuities on a personal, biographical, and family level both before and after 1989/90.

Between June and August of 2020, conversations about private photo albums were conducted in large and small cities throughout eastern Germany – Berlin, Dresden, Eisenhüttenstadt, Greifswald, Potsdam, Kleinmachnow, Kloster Veßra, Leipzig, Magdeburg and Rostock. During these conversations, registered participants were invited to look at photographs, photo albums, slides, short films, and similar materials with the project’s staff members and to tell their stories.

If you have photographs from this time or you have any questions about this project, please call us at 0151 10409096 or send us an email.

Note on the current Covid-19 situation: all conversations will take place after registration and in accordance with the official regulations to contain the pandemic. Conversations are closed to the public and will take place consecutively without album owners coming into contact with one another.

Initiated by historian of photography and curator Dr. Friedrich Tietjen and by cultural historian and curator Sophie Schulz, Biography and History: Private Photography in East Germany, 1980-2000 is organized by the Stiftung Reinbeckhallen and funded by the Bundesstiftung zur Aufarbeitung der SED-Diktatur. The project is carried out in cooperation with the Deutsches Historisches Museum.

Jugendweihen und Ostseereisen, Demonstrationen und Kleingärten, Republikgeburtstage und Weihnachtsfeste, das neue Auto und der letzte Arbeitstag – in privaten Fotoalben spiegeln sich die Erfahrungen und Lebenswelten in Ostdeutschland aus ganz individueller Sicht. Das Forschungs- und Dokumentationsprojekt Biografie und Geschichte. Private Fotografie in Ostdeutschland 1980–2000 sammelt und untersucht Fotoalben und Bilder aus den Jahren zwischen 1980 und 2000, die die Brüche, aber auch die Kontinuitäten auf persönlicher, biografischer und familiärer Ebene vor und nach 1989/90 zeigen.

Im Zuge des Projektes werden ab voraussichtlich Juni 2020 Albengespräche in größeren und kleineren Städten in Ostdeutschland stattfinden. Für diese Gespräche sind Bürger*innen eingeladen, lose Fotografien, Fotoalben, Dias, Schmalfilme und ähnliche Materialien nach vorheriger Anmeldung zusammen mit den Mitarbeiter*innen des Projektes anzuschauen und die Geschichten dazu zu erzählen.

Geplant sind Gespräche in Berlin, Dresden, Eisenhüttenstadt, Erfurt, Greifswald, Potsdam, Kleinmachnow, Kloster Veßra, Leipzig, Magdeburg und Rostock.

Konkrete Termine werden zeitnah bekannt gegeben.

Wenn Sie Fotografien aus dieser Zeit oder Fragen zum Projekt haben; Rufen Sie uns unter der Telefonnummer 0151 10409096 an oder schreiben Sie uns eine E-Mail.


Das Projekt Biografie und Geschichte. Private Fotografie in Ostdeutschland 1980–2000, initiiert von dem Fotohistoriker und Kurator Dr. Friedrich Tietjen und der Kulturhistorikerin und Kuratorin Sophie Schulz, wird von der Stiftung Reinbeckhallen Sammlung für Gegenwartskunst getragen und ist mit Mitteln der Bundesstiftung zur Aufarbeitung der SED-Diktatur gefördert. Das Deutsche Historische Museum ist Projektpartner.


Hinweis zur aktuellen Covid-19-Situation: Alle Albengespräche werden nach individueller Anmeldung und unter Berücksichtigung der jeweils geltenden Verordnungen zur Eindämmung der Corona Pandemie durchgeführt. Es handelt sich dabei explizit um nicht-öffentliche Treffen, die einzeln, nacheinander und ohne Kontakt mit anderen Albenbesitzer*innen stattfinden.